Screen Shot 2021-09-03 at 9.56.30 PM.png

FEAST OF TABERNACLES

Sunday, October 9th through Monday, October 17th

SUKKOT LIVE - AOP WATCH

We would like to invite you to join us this week on the Altar of Prayer. The watches on AOP will be modified EVERYDAY over the next 7 days (until Monday, Oct 17th) as follows: (All remaining watches for each day will remain unaffected)

  • 6pm to 9pm Jerusalem Time which is 11am to 2pm EST & 10am to 1pm CST

    HOSTING “LIVESTREAM” ON AOP FROM THE TENT IN ST LOUIS, MO.

  • 10pm to 12am Jerusalem Time which is 3pm to 5pm EST & 2pm to 4pm CST

    TORAH READING

  • 3am to 5am Jerusalem Time which is 8pm to 10pm EST & 7pm to 9pm CST

    HOSTING “LIVESTREAM” ON AOP FROM THE TENT IN ST LOUIS, MO.

    (Exception: Fridays evening service will begin 30 minutes earlier at 7:30pm EST & 6:30pm CST)

On this occasion, we are called to remember this First Aliyah - the Israelites' deliverance from slavery in Egypt and being brought by God's mighty Hand through the wilderness into the Land of Promise; during this 40-year journey life was hard and the Israelites lived in tents for an entire generation.
For this reason, they commemorate this throughout the generations by dwelling, eating, rejoicing, in a temporary shelter called a “sukkah” (“sukkot” for plural) for 7 days, and having a big celebration on the 8th day, representing them settling into their inheritance.

WHO IS IT FOR; JUST ISRAEL?


Deuteronomy 16:13-15 details who is supposed to participate in this harvest festival (pretty much everyone, foreigner or not) and why they should do so, concluding with “for the Lord your God will bless you in all your harvest and in all the work of your hands, and your joy will be complete.”
The verses following this mention that “No one should appear before the Lord empty-handed: Each of you must bring a gift in proportion to the way the Lord your God has blessed you.”

“Beginning with the fifteenth day of the seventh month, after you have gathered the crops of the land, celebrate this Festival to the Lord for seven days; the first day is a day of sabbath rest, and the eighth day also is a day of sabbath rest. On the first day, you are to take branches from luxuriant trees—from palms, willows, and other leafy trees—and rejoice before the Lord your God for seven days. Celebrate this as a Festival to the Lord for seven days each year. This is to be a lasting ordinance for the generations to come; […] Live in temporary shelters for seven days: […]”

- Leviticus 23:39-42 (NIV)

Screen Shot 2022-08-20 at 7.34.58 PM.png